Sunday, February 20, 2011

Santarius wins Blitz, Angelo Young wins title

NM Erik Santarius won the ICA Blitz Championship with an excellent 9-1 score against very tough competition.    As Erik is a Wisconsin resident, the second-place finisher, IM Angelo Young, adds the title of 2011 Illinois Blitz Champion to his five "slow" titles.  Anglelo scored 7½-2½.  Two-time US Game/30 champion Michael Auger, NM Eric Rosen, NM Atulya Shetty, and Matthew Wilber tied for third with 7-3.

NM Gopal Menon, who's one of the strongest "bullet" (one-minute game) players on the Internet Chess Club, didn't win a prize this year, nor did NMs Stamnov or Karagianis.

Results are here!

No comments: